Leisure reading – without a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey

Dirty old girlI couldn’t resist starting this post with a photo of Betty White, that dirty old girl reading Fifty Shades of Grey. Worry not, I do not plan to discuss this book at all. I haven’t read it. I don’t plan to.

I was reading Ernest Hemingway into the wee hours of last night. I just couldn’t sleep. Some recent disappointments on the job front turned me into an insomniac. But up all night with a book, that’s my idea of a treat! It’s been a few months since I’ve left my full-full time gig, and the time/mental space I’ve had to do some reading has been awesome!!

Here’s what I’ve been up to. Mind you, the $2.98 book bin at Trident Booksellers on Newbury Street drove the first few books purchases. Trident, an independent bookstore/cafe is worth the inconsistent service and super left-leaning hipster staff. Not that I’m against any of that in theory, I just don’t like to mix politics with my eggs, or anything else really.

Note – All book titles are linked to something, though not necessarily the publisher’s or author’s Web site. Enjoy!
The Book of Awesome  by Neil Pasricha, just some funny guy who blogged about simple things that make him (and just about everyone else happy), like putting on a pair of underwear fresh out of the dryer. And now he’s a bestselling author.

Roots Schmoots: Journeys Among Jews a long ramble by some smug old British Jewish journalist, Howard Jacobson, who fails to close the book with any conclusion whatsoever. This is a book that you feel could become fairly interesting. Until the book is over. And you feel like you just fell off a cliff.

Jealousy: The Other Life of Catherine M. By Catherine Millet, a French art critic who I think writes beautifully, falls apart because after years of rampant group sex and open relationships she finds out her husband/partner has had some affairs of the body and mind. Lord help me.

Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Riechl, former editor in chief of Gourmet Magazine, (a publication cruelly cancelled by Conde Nast. Really Conde Nast, how could you?!?!?!) Ruth documents her time as a food critic for the New York Times. It’s more than a  fun read. Ruth is a spiritual sister, if food is the G-D you pray to. She’s also a mom and a wife and a daughter and a friend and all this comes into play. I am a big fan of her!

Animal Farm Orwell – must I really elaborate? This is a re-read. In progress.

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh. Don’t be fooled by the frou frou title. This book is deep and I found it difficult to put down. It weaves the story of a young abandoned girl, bounced through the foster system and basically deemed unlovable and unmanageable with the Victorian code of flower language. Give it a chance. You won’t be able to pick up another book for at least another few days.

A Moveable Feast  Hemingway. A read in progress. I have mixed feelings here. Read the NY Times Op-ed (linked to the book title) and you’ll see I’m not the only one who isn’t quite satisfied.

What’s Next? I hope to read The Dip by Seth Godin. How did I JUST learn about this guy? This book is about knowing the smart time to quit something, and when it’s worthwhile to stick something out through the hard times. Sounds appropriate,eh?

And dear reader, what have you been up to? I hope you too have had time to squeeze in a book or two this summer.

8 thoughts on “Leisure reading – without a copy of Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. hi ellen! i just wanted to say i’ve been really enjoying your blog! thought i’d pass along one of my favorite books i read this summer: “the school of essential ingredients” by erica bauermeister is a novel about the people who attend a cooking class…. it’s a short but lovely read for anyone who loves to cook and eat good food! also, if you’re not yet following seth godin’s blog (http://sethgodin.typepad.com/), i highly recommend it. keep up the great blogging. 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your book list! I’m definitely going to check out Language of Flowers and Animal Farm.

    I think you’d enjoy The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, a biography written by Rebecca Skloot. I haven’t read a lot of interesting books this year; mostly silly ones like Do Tampons Take Your Virginity, which I think you’d get a kick out of. Books I read last year that I think are more interesting: Red Garden by Alice Hoffman and The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon. Also, Something Borrowed, Something Blue.

    • Nah, I’m just married to a *really nice guy* 🙂
      look forward to book swapping! I think you can share books on Kindle and iBooks… if you’re willing to read on your iPhone, which is how I read all of my novels…

  3. i think it would be of interest to your readers just who was the charming, intelligent and good looking friend of sasha’s who intuited that you would enjoy seth godin

Leave a Reply

