Drugs, death, and lunchroom chat

Well thank the lord that’s over. The election that is. Nothing gets my “so relaxed I’m nearly dead” blood pressure up than political anything. Yep. Tuesday, November 6. You guys were there. No need to rehash. I voted. You voted, if you were in the US, and able to. Sasha voted for the first time since becoming a citizen this spring. All good stuff. He’s an asshole obviously because he voted Republican and I’m an idealist leftist dipshit because I voted for Obama. (All my joking words, not his.)

Wednesday, November 7 I decided to be a mature human being and engage in some workplace discussion acknowledging the election. Ya’ll know I live in Boston and you can guess the crowd is very Obama/Warren so there’s nothing to discuss.

Some ballot questions came up. marijuana for medicinal purposes … marijuana decriminalized …marijuana legal …  marijuana good for the economy … Really no arguments here. I was still in my safety zone. I have no strong emotional ties to this issue. I believe marijuana is not a dangerous thing. I don’t believe it makes people do bad things. I don’t buy that it is a “gateway drug.” ’nuff said.

Then came assisted suicide, a proposal I favor. I don’t have a personal stake in the matter; maybe one day I will. But does it matter? To me, no. I believe in more rights, not fewer. This is an emotional topic for me because I have heard real-life examples of people who are terminally ill and suffering and they want to die with dignity, not prolong the pain. It hurt me (angered me, upset me, etc.) to hear people say they couldn’t support this proposal because it made them “uncomfortable.” Imagine the discomfort of someone who is asking to die because they don’t see a way out and physically it is impossible.

We can’t just vote on what benefits or hurts us and our families directly. Clearly as a mom healthcare and education are high priorities, but I can look beyond my immediate family needs and acknowledge that a healthy community, city, state, and nation benefit us all – and my family directly and indirectly. This should be obvious. It’s all very Malcom Gladwell’s The Tipping PointThe Broken Windows Theory, what have you …

If we are to be a progressive nation we need to look at all issues through a more progressive lens. Let’s not take away rights that don’t hurt others, but might just help others live better, happier, and with more dignity. Enough said here. I’m not a political person nor do I play one on TV. What I’m saying is, this very limited engagement in political discussion was enough. There’s no need to get heated, and it wasn’t the place to get into an argument. I’m mature enough to understand that sometimes walking away is the best thing I can do.

Do political discussions belong in the workplace? I guess it depends where you work. Was this discussion workplace inappropriate or disrespectful? Absolutely not. I know myself and I make my aversion to political discussions clear – Mostly because I can’t stand when people don’t see things my way!

There you have it. I so passive aggressively just pushed my political views on you.

Love,
Ellen

One thought on “Drugs, death, and lunchroom chat

  1. I enjoy reading these political views of yours. Maybe it’s because I agree with all of them… Definitely more fun that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

