Disney Fairies, Feminists, and Cool Moms

“You know what book we’ve been into lately?” said a fellow mom at Boston Ballet this morning. “Disney Fairies Encyclopedia.” I thought about this, then alluded to our feelings about Disney Princesses, politely and with trepidation. “Oh no, these are Disney Fairies. They have jobs. They do things.”

Right on. Together we shunned the bimbos and nodded to the dainty chicks that take care of business.

“Oh that sounds interesting,” said I. “Because we’re a feminist household.” She looked relieved. And happy. Then Liron decided we should all hang out. (After which she proceeded to remove her leotard in the hallway and strip down. Another story. Another day).

What can I say? I often leave Boston Ballet running blindly for my pacifier, I mean my Grand Marnier. It’s stressful and I worry I can’t relate to other parents who approach ballet class as a do-or-die task; taking their children’s performance personally and often becoming upset, even for those with kids from the age of two. Lighten up, I say. There’s plenty of time to binge, purge, and hate yourself because your en-point isn’t on point. Really!

There are some cool moms ballet moms and dads for sure. For some reason every time I find one I can relate to I want to do a victory dance.

Okay … So let the feminist-ballerina victory dance begin! With a dash of Grand Marnier.

PS – In case you wonder how I feel about Disney princesses, click here.

2 thoughts on “Disney Fairies, Feminists, and Cool Moms

  1. Wow – hope you find more cool parents who just let their kids be kids and try out new things! Good luck with the crazy parents too…I guess it takes all kinds! I am sure I’ll encounter more of this as my kids get older.

    • Yeah, takes all kinds … I certainly encourage my daughter to gravitate toward kids with the type of values we have as a family … Especially since I will interact with parents at playdates and I really want to connect with them. Some kids of difficult parents are amazing and cute and sweet – but when I see them picking up on some of their parents’ behaviors and attitudes (lack of empathy, for example), I find it difficult to deal with, and sad for the kids.

Leave a Reply

