Boston loves you, marathoners

boston marathonMarathon Monday is a landmark date for my family. Marathon Monday 2009 we drove Liron home from the hospital after a lovely and uneventful delivery at MGH. We took I-93 because we simply couldn’t drive over the Longfellow or Mass Ave Bridge to get to Boston. Come on … You know traffic around this event.

Every year relatives and friends navigate the runners and stores and events to help us celebrate Liron’s birthday. Now instead of looking at how the marathon fits into our lives, I’d like to extend my gratitude and love to those who participate in and support it – to those who ran, walked, watched, and helped, and especially today, for those who provided aid to the many in need.

I am proud of my city on a day like today. I hate what happened and I want to know what happened and I want to know it will never happen again (unrealistic, yes). I love my city and though I may never run 26.2 miles myself, I respect every person that makes a commitment to themselves – to their health and happiness – and if that means running a marathon, all the better.

In the years ahead, Marathon Monday will be a bittersweet one for me. It’s a wonderful family milestone, and a scary and sad day for our city. I will always love my city, my family, and all the marathoners that help to make Boston …. well, Boston.

Oh, and about the picture … I have no idea who these people are. I ripped this off Boston.com. They have just been reunited after the bombs. That’s real emotion right there. How about that? Did it make you tear up? Did for me.

Leave a Reply

